>Tuesday is Monday

21 Feb

>
It was back to work day in earnest: back to back meetings and financial forecasting between baby feedings and little girl school openings and closings – with an hour thrown in for classroom volunteering. Yahoo. But who needs a sob story when Tuesday is Monday. Really.

Instead, let’s focus on the task at hand. Miss 6 has decided since the untimely demise of Bluebell, the fish, our house is sorely lacking in the pet department. A spazzy 8-year-old golden retriever mix and a 9-years-young tail-less wonder cat not-with-standing apparently. It became evident a couple of weeks ago when the weekly library book was titled “Taking Care of a Pet Rabbit.” Hmm. “Why do we need THIS book?” I asked as if I truly had no idea where this was heading. “Mom! I REAAAALLLLLYYYY want a bunny!” Here we go. I decided to play along and just read the damn book. No harm, no foul, but no godforesaken rabbit! It went like this:

NIGHT ONE: The checklist for whether you are a candidate for a pet rabbit. “Yes. Yes. And yes,” piped in the beaming Miss 6. Then I added in my own extra one (I won’t get away with this for long since she can read. Bugger!): “Are you sure your current pets don’t eat bunnies?” “Mom? Does Ruby eat bunnies?” I guess I asked for it. “Well, I really don’t know for sure.” At least the seed was planted.

NIGHT TWO: Making sure you are equipped to KEEP said bunny. “Mom? When you get a bunny can you take it back to the store if you have other animals that may not like it?” I put on my serious face. “Well, that’s the thing. The only place to take them to is the HUMANE SOCIETY and if someone else doesn’t come along to take them home, the people there have to put them to sleep.” Yes, out it came. Without warning. There was no turning back. “To sleep?” Deep breath. “Yep. If they don’t have room to keep them, they give them a shot.” “A shot that makes them sleep and then they wake up?” “Well, a shot that makes them go to sleep and then they die.” What was I saying? This was supposed to be a BED TIME story. And saucer eyes wasn’t going to let this one go. Mom the idiot. “They DIE?!”

Fast forward. Bunny book is checked back in at the library. No more bunny talk. I probably scared the be-jesus out of the child. More money to deposit in the future therapy fund. We get two blissful weeks of “Strega Nona” and “Wild Wild Sunflower Child Anna.” Then today. She’s in PJs, ready for bed and I start cleaning out her backpack for tomorrow. She’s got a new library book. I pull it out. “How to Care for your Parakeet.” I read the title aloud and look up to see Miss 6 watching me with her devious grin.

Polly wanna join the nut house?

2 Responses to “>Tuesday is Monday”

  1. Stephanie February 22, 2007 at 6:18 pm #

    >Congratulations!! If I could write I’d join you in the world of blogging. So what’s prosecco?Stephanie

    Like

  2. Mark My Words February 23, 2007 at 3:46 pm #

    >Prosecco has generated some interest, so I think it deserves a proper explanation!PROSECCO:A newly discovered Italian wine of choice, courtesy of Shannon (via JT). Here’s what Wikipedia has to say…Prosecco is a variety of white grape grown in the Veneto region of Italy, and also gives its name to the sparkling wine made from the grape.The grape is grown in the Conegliano and Valdobbiadene wine-growing regions north of Venice. Its late ripening has led to its use in dry sparkling (spumante) and semi-sparkling (frizzante) wines, with their characteristic bitter aftertaste.The cocktail Bellini, made with sparkling wine and peach juice, and the cocktail poinsettia, made with a mixture of sparkling white wine, vodka, and cranberry juice, should properly be made with Prosecco wine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

